Poetry: Into the Storm

Poem by Jenise Cook

Photo by Jenise Cook (Pixabay)

 

 


Sometimes the signs lead me into the storm.

You hold me when I lean into You

as You lead me on the right path,

shining Your light in the dark.

Gripping Your shepherd’s staff

Your voice guides me for

You are the way

and the truth;

life and

hope.


Some thoughts about this poem:

The form of this free verse is sometimes called “sonnetina” or “decastitch”.  This free-verse poem is inspired by a photo I took which you can download for free on Pixabay.com.

The north-central highlands of Arizona (where I live) possess wide open spaces where thunderstorms embellish the views with abandon. When I first opened this image on my computer I gasped, pleased at the result. I asked it to speak to me. The image encouraged me to express hope in the midst of life’s storms.

Sometimes, the circumstances of life require me to walk through stormy times. I don’t like it, and yet I know that I don’t walk alone. The Lord Jesus Christ, my Good Shepherd, walks with me. Always!

What has inspired you to keep walking through life’s storms? Let us all know in the Comments.


About Jenise Cook

Cook is an author, copy-editor, photographer, and creative maker. A recovering native southern Californian, she lives in rural northern Arizona with her fine artist husband. They enjoy hiking and camping. Jenise is often on Twitter. You can find a list of her published works on: www.JeniseCook.com.


For more inspirational content, please visit our Lost Pen Blog page. To download Lost Pen Magazine, visit our Magazine Issues page.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.